Welcome from John Rimmer, LGB Chair 

I’m excited about the breadth and the quality of provision we can offer at Blessed Robert Sutton. There is a real sense of energy, commitment and determination from teaching colleagues and I know students will be energised and inspired not only by what they learn, but by how they learn it. There is no great teaching without great teachers, and the enthusiasm, ability and professionalism of our staff is second to none. 

What makes a good governor? 

The most important quality is the desire to make a difference to children’s lives through education. In addition to this, attributes that a make a good school governor include: 

  • A desire to help the local community 
  • An external perspective 
  • A willingness to change assumptions 
  • The time to get involved 
  • The ability to work as part of a team 

What do governors do? 

Among other responsibilities they: 

  • Oversee standards of teaching and learning including attending monitoring and evaluation days in school
  • Develop and review the School Improvement Plan 
  • Review curriculum 
  • Be a “critical friend” to Headteacher and other professionals 
  • Establish and review performance management 
  • Manage legal duties e.g. to students with Special Educational Needs 
  • Self evaluate school’s strengths and weaknesses, prepare for Ofsted inspections and draw up action plan post Ofsted visit 
  • Hear exclusion and disciplinary appeals 
  • Prioritise responses to a plethora of government initiatives 
  • Governors do not get involved in the day to day operational aspects of school – this is the job of the Headteacher and his staff. Their role is more strategic and long term.

Local Governing Body Members 

John Rimmer (Chair)

Deacon Andrew Martin (Vice Chair)

Father Neil Peoples

Mr Philip Salter 

Mrs Clare Orton 

Mrs Sharon Traves 

Mr Dean Simpkins

Mrs Rebecca Harris

NameInvitationsAttendedApologiesNot Present
John Rimmer (Chair)8800
Rebecca Harris8800
Andrew Martin8710
Clare Orton8530
Fr Neil Peoples8620
Philip Salter8260
Dean Simpkins8710
Sharon Traves8800

Further information

Blessed Robert Sutton Catholic Voluntary Academy’s governance arrangements can be found on the Trust’s website.